Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

Right now I am reading “Brave New World” by Aldous Huxley. I’m really enjoying it. I recently finished reading “The Stranger” by Albert Camus and “1984” by George Orwell. Orwell was a student of Huxley. I didn’t realize this until after I started reading it. “1984” is one of my favorite books, even though it is somewhat depressing. “The Stranger” was first introduced to me by the song “Killing an Arab” by the Cure (long live Robert Smith).

“Brave New World” is a fantastic book and I have a hard time believing it was written in 1932. I have an affinity for old science fiction. I’ve also read a story call “The Machine Stops” which is very good. It always amazes me to read stories from such a long time ago that reasonate so strongly with the current times.

Next I plan on reading “Uncle Tom’s Cabin” and then “Lord of the Flies”. But I am considering re-reading “Hiroshima” again. I can’t stop thinking about Japan.

Leave a comment

Filed under Currenting Reading

Leave a Reply

